08/09 for today

“what a day may bring, a day may take away.”

there is no holding onto good feelings nor is there ignoring the bad. life happens and i cannot control that. all i have any semblance of control over is my attitude toward all of it. so good and bad things can happen and i can still maintain a level of – if not all out happiness, then – peace and contentment. and that comes from the inside.

cultivating a way of living that enables me to roll with the punches and go with the flow is the best way for me to foster an ongoing sense of feeling good. this cultivation entails keeping a connection to that higher power of my understanding – the natural source of life and being – that is ongoing and accessible; good self-care including treating myself and those around me with loving kindness; accepting life on life’s terms, understanding what i cannot change and what i can act upon to affect in a positive way; and above all, understand that feelings – good or bad – need to be experienced and not escaped from. abstinence is what enables off of this; the clarity it allows, the health it brings, the freedom from the prison of addiction and compulsive behaviors.

it’s amazing what sort of life and living is available to me when i take those first steps to turn away from the abuse of food. just being in the world takes on a whole new shine, when i turn to – or RETURN to – the source; my body, mind and spirit seek their true & natural level.

for today, i’m grateful for tenacity. for today, i’m grateful that – for me – surrendering to my place in the universe only makes me free.

* the opinions expressed in this blog are mine and not that of OA

~ by ghyllee mahree on 2015/08/09.

want to say something?

 
